Chifley flood donation appeal

Help us rebuild the JB Chifley Library Level 1 collection

We are committed to rebuilding the collection and improving resources for research and study.

I’m sure we are all still grieving over the devastating events of 25 February. On behalf of the Library Advisory Committee I can assure you we are committed not only to rebuilding the collection but also to improving it. Both Roxanne and I have spoken to the University Executive and Council and it’s clear we can draw upon a lot of support to achieve this. We’re optimistic. And, it goes without saying, we’ll be moving forward in full consultation with you. A working party comprising representatives of each of the disciplines affected by the flood has been established to provide a formal mechanism for this. We’re extremely grateful for the many offers of support, including donations of books, that we’ve received. To ensure that this is managed properly the Library staff have toiled long and hard to produce a comprehensive list of all the books that were destroyed. If you would like to donate any books on the list we want them! It will be some time before we have space to take them but if you provide details on the link below be assured we will be in touch as soon as possible.

Prof Paul Pickering
Chair, Library Advisory Committee

Dear Colleagues

Thank you for all your support through the time after the flood that affected the Chifley Library on Sunday 25th February 2018.

Library staff and community members were devastated by loss of such an important part of our collection, built over the last 50 years by academics and library staff to support world class research and study.

We are now working on the second stage of rebuilding the Chifley Library collection – focusing on identifying ways of replacing the collection, in particular the monographs. We continue to work on the insurance claim and discuss the building work that will need to occur. Level 1 of the library will require significant work to reopen, and given the environment, we are not likely to house collection material on that floor.

The replacement of the collection will need to be carefully managed. The material on level 3 and 4 will need to be completely reorganised to accommodate replacement books. The collection at Hume needs to be assessed (and some of it deselected in accordance with the existing principles and practices) to make accommodate those resources that need to move from Chifley Library.

Thank you to all who have indicated that they may be able to donate material.

Please let us know what you can donate by 31 July 2018.

We are now at the stage of providing access to information on the monographs that were lost in the flood to obtain information from those who wish to donate titles, as well as suggestions of donations of material in these subject areas that would be of value and could be donated.

We would be grateful if you could:

Please let us know what you can donate by 31 July 2018.

It will be some time before we can accommodate donations and will be grateful for your assistance in retaining material until we contact you about the possible donation. Please accept our thanks for your offer and patience.

If you have any enquiries about donating material please do not hesitate to contact me.

If you would like to make a financial donation to assist in collection rebuilding please contact me.

Roxanne Missingham
University Librarian (Chief Scholarly Information Services)
Phone: 6125 2003